How To Make An Outdoor Table Out Of An Old Door

When we moved into our house, I discovered that the previous occupants had left an old door in the shed (along with a chum bucket, some dog toys, and an entire collection of broken ceramic frogs). It’s a nifty, weather-beaten old door, and just looking at it gave me the project itch.  Yesterday I took advantage of the glorious weather and some Spring Break free time to turn the door into an outdoor table. (GET IT? outDOOR?)

Step One: Assemble Your Materials

I used scrap 2 by 4s from the attic and the old door was in the shed. I made a stable workstation by putting the door on saw horses, and gathered the tools I would use. This project required a circular saw, a power drill, wood screws, a tape measure, a pen, and some clamps.

olddoor

Step Two: Cut Things!

This step was a little scary. It took me forever to figure out how to use the circular saw. Normally, I just press buttons and pull on levers until I can get something to work, but that’s not a strategy I care to use for devices with sharp spinning blades.  I eventually figured out that I was putting the saw too close to the wood when I tried to start it, so the blades couldn’t spin properly. I spent a solid hour reading the circular saw manuals and watching YouTube videos about saws, and I eventually figured out what I was doing wrong on my own. Thanks for nothing internet!

I cut four 26″ legs, two long supports (didn’t measure), and two short supports (didn’t measure).

Step Three: Drill Things!

I attached the legs first, then the short supports, and then the long supports. The supports were held in place with clamps until I could secure them with the wood screws. I drilled pilot holes, and then put the wood screws in using a No. 2 Phillips bit.

Protip: Drill bits get hot! Don’t touch them immediately.

That was it. Table done. The legs are a bit too small, so the table is a bit wobbly. If you are buying wood for this project and not just using scraps, I would buy some sturdier pieces for the legs. I’m going to put the table up against the fence in my backyard and use it for gardening and entertaining.

It's Rustic

Results: A Slightly Wobbly Table

Injuries: Mild Burn to One Finger (But no blood!)

Cost: Free!

Husband’s Reaction: “I have been utterly unmanned.”

Success!

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How To Make An Outdoor Table Out Of An Old Door

  1. sanny s. says:

    wowowo,, ur doing very well 4 urself!!1!!!! nice 2 have handy woman,,sure ur husband thnks so to lol!!

  2. You’re so amazing! I can’t wait for the next entry! I hope it’s a list!

  3. Luz Valdovinos says:

    wow! I am super impressed. That is a great table. I would LOVE a table like that, as to the wobbly legs, I’m sure I would end up with way wobblier legs then those. Also have you considered sanding some of them down to get them to the same height or adding something to the some of the legs to make them all the same height? I can’t wait for you to entertain me in that table!

Leave a Reply

