Vintage Fashion Inspiration From United States Of Tara

If you are familiar with the show United States of Tara, you might expect this post to be about Alice, Tara’s 1950s housewife-type alternate personality. But it’s not. Surprisingly, Alice is my least favorite alter, even though I do admire her lipstick and baking abilities. I certainly love some of her dresses too, but she’s somehow less real than Tara’s other personalities.

Instead, I’d like to introduce you to Petula, Marshall’s friend and high school classmate. Petula has sass for days and style for miles. This girl knows how to wear a cardigan. And those glasses? Be still my heart, and curse my 20-20 vision!

Petula, played by Hayley McFarland, is only on three episodes of the show, but perhaps as a karmic reward for her vintage awesomeness, she recently appeared on an episode of Mad Men. Keep living the dream, McFarland!

High school would have been a million times better with her wardrobe. Here’s Petula wearing a vintage shirt dress. Check out her wicker purse. It’s all in the deets.

Petula and I even share a distaste for the musical Grease.

“Sex-crazed bobby-soxers? It’s not even good in an ironic way.”

She’s just perfect. Her outfits are both femme and serious as hell. If I had any clothing money to speak of, I would dress just like her as often as possible. Despite her character’s sartorial perfection, Petula disappears from the show by the end of the first season. She’s supposed to be Marshall’s best friend, but apparently Marshall is the world’s worst bff. He hasn’t talked to Petula in seasons.

I know, Petula. I’d be mad, too. But your outfit is amazing.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Style, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vintage Fashion Inspiration From United States Of Tara

  1. Amanda says:

    I have never seen United States of Tara but I have always been curious about it. It’s streaming on Netflix so it fits the necessary criteria for me to watch it. I recognize that gal from Gilmore Girls. She was friends with April in the 6th season. Other notable guests on GG: Jon Hamm, Seth McFarlane, Nick Offerman, and Adam Brody. I may know way too much about Gilmore Girls…

  2. Emily says:

    Too mousy for me. I like my women bossy, bitchy, and buckwild.

Leave a Reply

