Easy Cheap Dinner: Black Bean Taquitos

I originally wrote a draft of this post while stuck at the Department of Motor Vehicles. There was a lot of rage and anger, and frankly, these taquitos deserve better than that. My husband and I had them for dinner the other day, and they were easy, fast, and unbelievably cheap. Seriously. I used half a cup of leftover black beans. Intense frugality, you guys!

This is a good Hard Times meal, for when you are trying to make it to the next paycheck or trust fund dividend payment. (I wish.) The original recipe is from Naturally Ella, but I have made a few changes.

Baked Black Bean Taquitos

This recipe took me about 35/40 minutes tops.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small jalapeño
  • 2-4 Tablespoons Olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I always use kosher salt)
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/8 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used Mexican blend)
  • 6 flour tortillas

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Heat 2 tablespoons or so of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.

While the oil is heating, chop your onions.

Add onions to pan, and cook until they become translucent. (I like my onions a little more on the done/crispy side.)

While the onions are cooking, mince your garlic, and seed and chop up your jalapeño.

Add garlic, jalapeño, half a cup of cooked, rinsed black beans, some fresh cilantro, and the spices/salt to your onions. Stir, and cook for 2-3 minutes.

While your delicious mixture is cooking, prepare your flour tortillas. I don’t have a microwave to steam them, so I softened mine by frying them for a few seconds in olive oil. Both methods would work fine. If you steam yours instead of frying them, brush your rolled taquitos with oil before you throw them in the oven.

Add cheese, and a spoonful of bean mixture to the center of your tortilla. Roll it up tightly and put it seam side down in a lightly greased or non-stick baking pan.

After you roll up all six taquitos, put them in the oven for 15 minutes until they become golden and a little crispy.

I served my taquitos with Mexican Rice Pilaf, chips, and salsa and sour cream. I would recommend garnishing this with some extra cilantro or some green onion.

Cost: Did I mention that I used leftover black beans for this? The wheat tortillas were $1.50, and the rest of the ingredients I had on hand. So cheap. So good.

Results: My husband thought these taquitos had beef in them until I informed him otherwise. They were filling and satisfying.

Tips: This meal was so good I think I’ll double it next time. I think the leftovers would reheat well.

 

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Cheap Dinner: Black Bean Taquitos

  1. Luz Valdovinos says:

    I really appreciate that this meal is vegetarian. It does look yummy and pretty easy to make. I do not have a microwave either so I just usually heat up my tortillas on a warm skillet/ frying pan, you can do it for a short time, which gets them steamy, or leave them on there a little longer and they get crunchy.

  2. Luz Valdovinos says:

    No, I usually don’t

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan For The Week Of 11/14 |

Leave a Reply

