Weekly Meal Plan And Menu Planning Tips

Meal plans help organize my week, and because when I know exactly what I’m going to make for dinner I’m less likely to order take-out or go out to eat. Meal planning and grocery shopping are the most stressful parts of cooking for me, so if I can get those chores out of the way on Sunday it helps me feel more relaxed all week.

Without further ado, here is this week’s meal plan:

Meal Plan— Week of March 28

Monday:  Pesto Pasta Chicken, Garlic Bread

Tuesday: Beer-Braised Pork and Bean Soup, Corn Muffins

Wednesday:  Steak, Fried Green Beans, Pasta Salad

Thursday:  Slow Cooker Pork Tacos, Chips/ Salsa and Coleslaw

Friday: Leftovers or Pizza

Menu Planning Tips

1. Get Inspired

It’s so much easier to cook in the evenings if you are actually excited about what you’ll be eating. I usually start my menu planning with a visit to Tastespotting. I also pursue my cookbooks and cooking magazines for ideas. If it’s Hard Times and I’m broke, I usually start by looking at the sales flyer for the grocery store.

2. Check your Schedule

Before I do any shopping, I double-check to make sure that both my husband and I are actually going to be home every night during the week.  If my husband will be out at a school function, I usually just make myself something simple, like beans and rice. (I love beans and rice.)

3. Check the Weather

Check the forecast to make sure that your menu is appropriate for the weather. Nobody wants to eat soup when it is 90 degrees out.

4. Check Your Pantry

Before you make your shopping list, check your pantry to see what ingredients you have on hand. This is especially important if you live in a house with limited storage space , and you don’t want to have duplicate condiments.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Meal Plan And Menu Planning Tips

  1. Whitney says:

    I agree with all of your points, except to check the weather. I myself enjoy a hot bowl of soup in the winter as well as the summer. Weird? Maybe. Ballsy? Absolutely. I do what I want Mother Nature!

  2. Yeah, I agree with homegirl up above. Soup is always legit as fuck.

Leave a Reply

