And Then She Put It In Her Mouth: Foraged Dandelion Greens With Garlic and Olive Oil

Did you know that you can eat dandelion greens? You absolutely can. According to this blog post from Whole Foods, “dandelion greens are a perfect choice providing calcium, iron, fiber, Vitamins A, E and K, and powerful antioxidants including beta Carotene and lutein.” Dandelions have nutrients I’ve never even heard of!

Whole Foods wants you to buy bunches of overpriced organic dandelion greens from them, but that’s complete rubbish. Dandelion greens are a true hard times budget dish. My depression-surviving grandma would laugh at the thought of paying for something that’s already growing in your yard. Unless you (or even your next door neighbors) chemically treat your lawn, there is no need to give Whole Paycheck more money.

Dandelion Greens with Garlic and Olive Oil

Ingredients:

  • Dandelion Greens (roughly 1 cup per person)
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic (I used three cloves for one cup of greens)
  • Kosher Salt

Instructions:

Gather dandelion greens from your yard. The smaller, younger leaves are more tender and less bitter.

Wash your greens, and trim the stems.

Bring salted water to a boil.

Roughly chop garlic.

While waiting for the water to boil, heat a tablespoon of olive oil in skillet.

Saute garlic in olive oil.

Once the water is boiling, add greens and boil for ten minutes.

Drain greens, and add to skillet with olive oil and garlic.

Cook for two minutes to let the flavors combine.

I put it in my mouth, and I’d do it again. Dandelion greens are delicious, and they made my house smell like a classy Italian restaurant. They were still bitter, but that bitterness was offset by the roasty garlic. You could add all sorts of delicious bits to these greens. Bacon, walnuts, and caramelized onions would all be great.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Hard Times and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Then She Put It In Her Mouth: Foraged Dandelion Greens With Garlic and Olive Oil

  1. Amanda says:

    I actually wrote a paper for my botanical medicine class last trimester on dandelion, or Taraxacum officinale (I speak Latin, NO BIG DEAL). It’s crazy good for you! I’ve never tried it but was always kind of interested so I’m glad you did the experimenting for me. If times really get tough, make some dandelion wine…although I feel that wine should always be factored into one’s budget.

    • Amanda,
      I took some Latin in college and some dirty poems are all I remember. What are you in school for? Botanical medicine sounds like a fascinating class. I’d love to know the actual science behind some of the natural remedies the internets suggest.

      Wine is included in the budget under food, necessities, medicine, and entertainment.

  2. Luz Valdovinos says:

    I’ve always wanted to cook with dandelions but never have. I fear I might have to get mine from Whole Paycheck because I don’t own my lawn and I’m sure that everyone chemically treats their lawn. I mean I don’t let Kaya eat anything from the street, so I prob. shouldn’t either. Also, dandelion root tea is supposed to be really good for detoxing.

    • Luz,

      I don’t want you to get some nasty city disease. But you can keep urban foraging in mind for survival times. When I was googling dandelion greens recipes, I ended up on this discussion board for hardcore survivalists. This one woman was planning to use the methane from her chicken coop to do her canning this year. I’m still not sure if I’m impressed or horrified.

      Have you ever tried dandelion root tea?

Leave a Reply

