My Sunflower Seed Garden Bed

Here’s the little bed I made for my sunflowers. I made it out of the branch that tried to kill me the other day. I figure it owed me.

I’m growing sunflowers for their seeds, but I’m a little nervous about their future, because  I made this bed pretty close to a Black Walnut tree. My neighbor told me today that Black Walnut trees produce a toxin called juglone, which can kill nearby plants. Sunflowers aren’t included on the lists of plants super sensitive to juglone, so there is hope for my sunflower crop yet. I’ll keep you posted.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Garden, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Sunflower Seed Garden Bed

  1. Sarya Echo says:

    Good luck! I just planted sunflower seeds too! I plant them for the birds, especially goldfinches. I don’t see them all year, then they just show up when the seeds are ready!

  2. pobept says:

    Unless your sun flowers are planted within a walnuts drip line, I’ll bet you will have no problems.

    Happy sun flower gardening

  3. Luz Valdovinos says:

    Oh man you should have started planting sunflowers a long time ago.

  4. Pingback: How To Build Raised Garden Beds |

  5. Pingback: The Branch That Tried To Kill Me |

  6. Pingback: Sunflower Update With Garden Cat |

Leave a Reply

