The Grumpy Gourmet Makes Gluten-Free Potato Nachos

After an irritating week of conference presentations, seminar papers, and other academic chores that interfere with my actual life, I’m finally back where I belong: the kitchen, bitches.

Today, I made potato nachos, inspired by this post, but I added meat just out of spite because that blog was really uppity about how much healthier their nachos were compared with regular o’ nachos. When I’m stressed and tired, everything makes me angry. Even health.

The Grumpy Gourmet’s Gluten-Free Potato Nachos

If you are cutting out gluten from your diet, these potato nachos are a great way to get your taco/nacho fix.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb and 1/2 Potatoes (I used about 9 small to medium Yukon gold potatoes)
  • Olive oil (enough to coat the potatoes)
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Cayenne Pepper  (to taste)
  • 1 lb beef
  • Taco seasoning packet
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Whatever toppings you want. (I used olives, green onions, and red peppers)

Step One:Preheat Your Oven To 425 degrees.

You should see some numbers like this.

Step Two: Wash and Cut Your Potatoes

I skinned peeled mine, but you don’t have to if you like skins. Cut your potatoes like steak fries.

Step Three: Add Potatoes To Ice Bath

Fill a big bowl with cold water, ice, and salt. Toss your potatoes in the bowl after you cut them. The salt ice water bath will help draw the moisture out of your potatoes and help them get crispier in the oven. Ideally, you want to keep your potatoes in their ice bath for at least half an hour.

Step Four: Dry Your Potatoes

Once a half an hour has passed (or 25 minutes or whatever), dry your potatoes. I made mine a nice little bed in a clean towel. I think they appreciated it.

*Update* My friend Luz made these and used a salad spinner to dry her potatoes. She said it worked great, so if you own one of these handy little gadgets, give it a whirl.

Step Five: Season Your Potatoes

Put your dried potatoes back in the bowl. Toss with olive oil and any desired seasonings. Place potatoes on a non-stick, shallow baking tray. I used a deep tray and a shallow sheet. The deep tray potatoes just sort of turned into mush. Stick with cookie sheets. Learn from my mistakes.

Step Six: Put Potatoes In Oven

Plan on letting them cook for about 30-40 minutes. Stir your potatoes every ten minutes or so.

Step Seven: Cook Your Meat

While the potatoes are cooking, go ahead and get your beef started. I used 97% fat-free ground beef, because when I am not so exhausted, I do dream of living past my 40th birthday. Cook meat until it is brown, drain off fat, and add any seasonings. I had a packet of taco seasoning in the pantry, so I just used that.

Vegetarians: You could heat up some nice black beans like the original recipe suggests instead of making taco meat. If you do use black beans, add some extra spices to the potatoes before baking.

Step Eight: Chop Your Toppings

Step Nine: Booze It Up

While waiting for the damn potatoes to cook, make yourself a drink. I recommend Pimm’s and Ginger Ale. Imbibe rapidly.

Step Ten: Assemble and Devour

Top potatoes with taco meat, cheese, and your assorted chopped toppings. I also garnished mine with a little sour cream.

Verdict: It’s potatoes covered with taco goodness. It’s the cure for your rage.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Grumpy Gourmet Makes Gluten-Free Potato Nachos

  1. you. are. so. sweet.

  2. Luz Valdovinos says:

    I need a cure for my rage, and this may be it!

Leave a Reply

