Asparagus and Salami Panzanella

It’s hot, so I don’t feel like cooking, but it’s only May, so my produce options are still pretty limited. Thanks a lot, Kansas. If it weren’t for asparagus, I’d just give up and start eating Doritos and sunflower seeds for every meal. I’d do it too. Don’t test me.

Fortunately, I was inspired by 1 Big Bite’s post for asparagus panzanella. As always, I’ve made plenty of changes. Most panzanella recipes just have you cut up old bread and add the cubed bread to your salad. That’s a little too soggy for me, so I prefer to make croutons. Plus, if you add the croutons to your salad while they are still hot, your panzanella will have a nice mixture of hot and cold ingredients. That feels fancy in the mouth.
Hot Spring Asparagus and Salami Panzanella

Ingredients:

Step 1. Make your vinaigrette.

Make your dressing first so the flavors have time to meld. I made the Whole Foods vinaigrette mainly as an excuse to roast some garlic. I could eat entire bulbs of garlic. For breakfast.

Step 2. Preheat Oven to 350.

Step 3: Choppy Chop Chop

Chop all your ingredients. Remove the skin from your salami. If you are using leftover artisan bread to make your croutons, you might want to cut it up using kitchen scissors.

Step 4: Set Aside Mozzarella and Salami

You want these ingredients to stay at room temperature for maximum flavor.

Step 5: Cook Your Asparagus

Bring water in a saucepan to boil. Throw in your asparagus and let it cook for three minutes.

Once the asparagus is done cooking, drain it and run cold water over the asparagus.

Step 6: Combine asparagus and red onion in a bowl and place in fridge.

Step 7:  Make Your Croutons

Place bread cubes into a bowl, and add as much olive oil and parmesan cheese as you dare.

Place your dressed bread cubes on a baking sheet and bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Give your bread buddies a stir after ten minutes.

Step 8: Combine cheese, salami, red onions, asparagus, vinaigrette and croutons. Eat.

P.S. I ate cold, leftover roasted garlic while I wrote this. Is it possible to have a garlic deficiency?

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asparagus and Salami Panzanella

  1. Amanda says:

    Made this a few nights ago and would just like to say it’s delicious and really easy. Reader testimonial!

Leave a Reply

