Lemon Cookie And Almond-Pistachio Ice Cream Sandwiches

Desserts for BBQs are tricky. Everybody (including me) gorges themselves on assorted meats and potato-heavy sides. (Hello, potato salad! How I have missed ye.)  Humble desserts like cookies get overlooked in favor of a third (or forth) helping of smoky BBQ goodness.

For a BBQ, you need a dessert that can hold its own. A dessert that can look into a guest’s sauce-smeared face and say, “You know you want me.” These homemade ice cream sandwiches are so summery, so tempting, and so refreshing that no one will be able to resist them, even with a stomach full of brisket.

These lemon cookie and almond-pistachio ice cream sandwiches are nuts for you. To be honest, I’m a little crazy about them too. I think I’m going to go eat a leftover one right meow. I’ll try not to get the sticky on the keyboard.

These are super easy to make. There’s no reason you can’t have one right meow too.

Lemon Cookie And Pistachio-Almond Ice Cream Sandwiches

For the cookies (adapted from cate’s world kitchen):

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 4 tbs butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • Zest of two lemons
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, blend shortening, butter, and sugar until creamy. Next, add vanilla extract, lemon extract, and lemon juice. Mix, and then stir in lemon zest.

Mix together your dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and then add to wet ingredients. Mix until dough is formed.

Roll into one inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet. I use a little cookie dough ball scoop so that my cookies come out evenly.

Bake for 8-12 minutes. I baked mine for 12 minutes, and they never did get very crispy, which was fine for my purposes. Let cookies cool completely before you begin making your ice cream sandwiches.

For the filling:

1/2 gallon pistachio-almond ice cream

Once your cookies have cooled, place a scoopful of slightly-melted ice cream between two cookies and press together. I left my gallon in the fridge for 25 minutes and it was the perfect consistency. You could use any sort of ice cream, but the pistachio-almond complemented the lemon cookie nicely. I’m sure these would be even better if you could make your own ice cream for the filling. I used the cookie baller again to scoop out the ice cream. Put your sandwiches on cookie sheets lined with wax paper and place them in the freezer for a couple of hours to set.

See the sad guy? He’s sad because he got a little melty. Don’t worry. We ate him. Smiles all around.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon Cookie And Almond-Pistachio Ice Cream Sandwiches

  1. This is a fun and interesting combo. We are saluting “cool treats” this week in honor of summer – today we did ice cream sandwiches. I included a link to this post on our blog. Please stop by and see our sandwiches that we made. http://sistersplayinghouse.blogspot.com/2012/06/cool-treats-week-sandwiches.html

  2. Pingback: COOL TREATS WEEK: Sandwiches » Sisters Playing House

Leave a Reply

