The Perfect Buns For Your 4th Of July BBQ

I enjoy baking, and there are some types of bread that I think I can usually do pretty well. But I’ve never been happy with my hamburger buns. Every bun recipe I’ve ever tried has come out dense and dry. Until now, folks. Until now.
I have discovered (with the help of Apron Appeal, via the NY Times)  the best burger buns of all time. OF ALL TIME. If Kanye West ever came to my holiday BBQs, I’m sure he’d agree too.

The Best Burger Buns Of All Time

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 2 1/2 tbs sugar (Yes, tablespoons. No, they aren’t too sweet.)
  • 3 tbsp buttermilk or milk (I used half and half this time. It was what I had.)
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbs butter.

For Topping: 1 egg, sesame seeds.

Step 1:  Make Your Dough

Mix water, yeast, and sugar. Let sit until the mixture gets all frothy.Next, add your milk, salt, and egg. Blend together. Add three cups of the flour.Mix. Then add the butter. Then, slowly add some of the additional flour until the dough is tacky, but not too sticky to handle. She’s a wet dough, mate. You might not need the full 4 cups.

Knead your dough for 8 minutes. If you have a Kitchenaid, you can just let the dough hook take care of things.

Step 2: Let It Be

Put your dough in a large greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap. Let it sit for 1 to 2 hours. I put my dough in the laundry room, and it doubled in less than an hour.

(Don’t worry if your dough isn’t as puffy as mine. I made a double batch!)

Step 3: Prepare Tray And Shape

Put your dough on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper so your buns do not stick to the tray. Parchment paper is a bit on the pricey side, but I recently found out that you can actually reuse the same piece over and over. Cut the dough into twelve equal pieces and shape into buns.

Step 4: Let It Be

Your shaped buns need to rest for another 1-2 hours until they are doubled in size. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Step 5: Turn Your Oven Into A Steam Oven

Fill a casserole dish or cake pan with water and put it on your oven’s bottom rack. Your buns will steam as well as bake. That’s extra deliciousness right there.

Step 6: Egg Wash And Seed Application Procedure

Once buns have risen, mix egg and one tablespoon of water. Brush onto the tops of your buns, and sprinkle on sesame seeds.

Step 7: Let It Bake

Your buns need to bake on the middle rack for about fifteen minutes.

Try not to eat them all immediately.

As God is my witness, I’ll never eat disappointing burger buns again.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Buns For Your 4th Of July BBQ

  1. Apron Appeal says:

    How awesome is this! My first repost EVER (that I know of)! I’m so glad these worked out well enough for you to blog about them. I worry every time someone makes something I’ve posted because I hate to think I might be responsible for someone having to throw out food that just didn’t reach it’s promised potential.

Leave a Reply

