Vintage Recipe: Bacon-Wrapped Hot Dogs

I’d like your mouth to meet someone special today. Meet the bacon-wrapped hot dog sandwich known as the Big Boy. I think you are going to be great friends.

I found the recipe for Bacon Big Boys in my copy of the 1968 Better Homes and Garden cookbook Cooking For Two. There are a lot of really unfortunate recipes in this cookbook, like the broccoli ham abomination on the front cover.

On page 54, however, I found the recipe that sparked my culinary time traveling adventure. It’s a man-sized sandwich that’s good for a twosome, but how could you make this and not invite your friends?

The only change I made to the recipe was to use regular hot dog buns and just one hot dog per sandwich. Frankly, (PUN SO INTENDED) these Big Boys were filling enough.

Look at these ingredients. This sandwich doesn’t pretend to be anything it’s not: it’s hot dogs, it’s cheese, it’s bacon.

This recipe was really easy to make. You basically put together a hot dog, wrap it in bacon, and bake it. Ta-done.

You need to flip the Big Boys once halfway through cooking.

Even though the recipe’s total cooking time was only sixteen minutes, it took about thirty minutes for the bacon to cook through when I made these tasty treats in my oven. I’m not sure why, but cooking times in vintage cookbooks are always somewhat off. As always, just pull your food out of the oven when it has reached your desired level of doneness.

Click here for a PDF of the retro recipe: Cooking For Two: Bacon Big Boy

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fun, Recipes, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vintage Recipe: Bacon-Wrapped Hot Dogs

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan For The Week Of 11/14 |

  2. Amanda says:

    This is great, but what do I make for my next THREEsome?

  3. Marie says:

    My daughter and son-in-law escaped for a two week vacation in Hawaii – leaving the house nearly devoid of groceries!! So my 16 years old grandson and I are looking for ways to stretch what is actually left in the house. My 22 years old grandson just looks on and smirks! We’ll show HIM!! We found your wonderful way to do hot dogs and are going to try it – sounds delicious and, with a couple more condiments we think we have a hit!! Thanks for sharing this!!

    Marielabeau

  4. Steve Richer says:

    Reblogged this on Steve Richer and commented:
    Mouth-watering…

Leave a Reply

