How To Make An Entire Dinner In A Rice Cooker: Salmon, Zucchini, And Rice

Not to dwell on the obvious, but it is hot. So to avoid turning on the oven or using the stove, I made an entire dinner in a rice cooker. It wasn’t the fanciest of dinners, but it was easy and it was tasty. At first, I was a little worried about steaming salmon in my rice cooker. Even the Amazon description for my rice cooker is a little hesitant about its steaming abilities. Look at bullet point two:

I don’t want to make you any promises? Maybe you can steam meat? Or you might die?

But my rice cooker was as good as its word, and steamed it all and I, who did NOT die, enjoyed as good a dinner as the good old city ever knew. God bless us. Every one.

Sorry. Here’s the recipe:

Serves 1. This recipe could easily be doubled or even tripled, depending on the size of your rice cooker.

  • Rice (1 cup)
  • Salmon filet, thawed
  • Zucchini
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Soy sauce

Assemble your ingredients, and make sure the lighting in your kitchen makes everything look like the 60s. This is the rice cooker I have. It’s awesome.

Put your rice in the rice cooker. Use two cups of water for every cup of rice.

Chop up some zucchini into chunks and add them to the steamer basket, along with the salmon. Drizzle everything with olive oil and some salt and pepper.

Put the lid on, and press down the cook button. It took about fifteen minutes to cook. The rice maker turns off automagically.

Serve with soy sauce, and don’t share any with this guy:


Psst! Want more recipes, vintage flair, and more? Follow Robot Housekeeping On Facebook!

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

