Vintage Maternity Style: Lauren Bacall

maternitypeplemSince becoming a Host* to a little sprocket, I’ve been scouting around for vintage maternity inspiration. Resources are scant. A lot of vintage maternity looks just aren’t that appealing. Think lots of boxy tunics.

The June 22, 1953 edition of Life magazine featured a spread on (barely pregnant-looking, like seriously, five weeks max) Lauren Bacall, who designed her own maternity wear, because you don’t put Bacall in a boxy tunic.

vintagematernityLauren Bacall smoking her prenatal cigarettes in her Victorian-inspired maternity jacket. Don’t worry–the cigarettes are filtered. Only the best for Jr.

bacallmaternityHere’s Bacall in one of Bogie’s shirts–stiffly starched. This seems like a easy-to-recreate vintage maternity look. I might pick up some of these Mother Maternity shorts for summer, some heavy duty spray starch, and then go raid my husband’s closet. That’s how I roll Old Hollywood style.

*Some might call me a mother-to-be, even. Don’t say pregnant–that’s uncouth. I’m 26 weeks uncouth, to be specific.

About Robot Housekeeping

I'm much too manic to blog about only one topic. I write Robot Housekeeping so that I can share my love of all things vintage and domestic. Sometimes, I even leave the house.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Pregnancy, Style, Vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

